top of page
  • Writer's pictureAniela Codita - Style Coachâ„¢

Yoga and Body Image

I still remember the day I rolled out my old yoga mat for the first time like it happened yesterday. I felt a little bit embarrassed, shaky and vulnerable, and I thought I'd give it a try without putting any pressure on myself to turn it into a habit. All I knew for sure was I had decided to stop ignoring my needs and to start allotting some time to reconnect to my feelings and desires daily.



Starting with easy poses and patiently learning how to cultivate mindfulness, I followed through a thirty-day challenge and then another until I realised I had reached an unexpected level of confidence that allowed me to choose more complex classes and poses. It also improved my sense of self-worth and confidence that I needed so much outside the yoga classes.


A few years later I realised I was still doing yoga but wasn't embarrassed and shaky anymore. I had grown confident and stable and I had managed to get in touch with myself. My self-esteem and body image had also improved significantly. I celebrated this as great progress but had no idea it was just the beginning. Throughout the following years, I discovered and experienced the priceless positive effects of meditation, journaling and other similar activities.


The book I've been reading lately speaks a lot about the benefits of various strategies to improve your life and it inspired me to share my experience with one I had tried before reading it.


If you want to talk about other strategies that you can use to feel more fulfilled, happier and in touch with yourself, I invite you to reach out and schedule an introductory session. I look forward to meeting you!


If you want to enhance your image as a strategy to improve your body image, self-esteem and confidence and want to start small, I invite you to try a style challenge and see how it feels doing it by yourself. I'd love to hear your story and experience!

bottom of page