top of page
  • Writer's pictureAniela Codita - Style Coachâ„¢

Why "Get some sleep every time she sleeps!" is the worst advice ever and what to do instead

"Get some sleep every time she sleeps!" This is one of the most common pieces of advice I've ever received since I've become a mom. And of the most useless, if you ask me.

Does anyone think I can sleep EVERY TIME my daughter sleeps with all the laundry I need to do while the tower of clothes stares at me every time I enter the room where the ironing board has become the focal point of the space because I don't even bother to store it in the pantry, given that I use it almost every day?


Does anyone honestly believe that I can sleep every time my daughter sleeps with all the laundry I have to do, with a house to clean, and a husband to spend time with before we get to feel like strangers that accidentally meet regularly in the same place to eat?


Does anyone really think that I can sleep every time my daughter sleeps with all the things I need to do in order to feel and look put together and all the friends and family I need to keep in touch with and maybe even remember their birthdays and everything they do so that I don't seem rude or uninterested and don't feel abandoned to my own destiny and left aside in a bubble all by myself?


I don't think so. Or at least I hope there's no one that naive to believe that. Then why are they giving advice they know makes no sense?!


I genuinely hope that people around you were supportive and gave you realistic advice but if you feel you could have better, please get in touch and let's start prioritising and planning. When you begin to use that little time left for yourself with purpose and intention, you start to feel better and energised, which allows you to get even more done.

bottom of page